That Oil That One Drops Into An Ear

Something about this response irked me. It was, I think, the claim that I had softened Speyer; as if I were no more than the oil that one drops into an ear to loosen wax. As if my adventures in Dreiseen were simply part of a wider story in which Schintz and Speyer were the main characters and I was a mere cameo, brought in to change the pace or direction of the narrative, before slipping away into the night. Looking back now, I wonder whether this wasn’t indeed the case, though at the time I didn’t like the idea of it. I guess I wanted to be more than a cameo. But I was too late for this. Far too late.

Chapter Four, Part Three. Now available.

Leave a Reply

