As a Pudding

Italian composer Paulo Zilotti explains the complicated genesis of My Grandmother’s Pudding: The Opera:

M T-R – Well, could you perhaps explain how it was you finally came to the decision to adapt Ijit Yoy’s novel My Grandmothers Pudding?

Zilotti – One day I was reading this book, My Grandmother’s Pudding. I read the book and I enjoy the book. Then one day I think, this would be good opera.

M T-R – Could you specify any elements of the book that might be said to have provoked such thoughts?

Zilotti – Yes. The pudding.

M T-R – What was about the pudding that you considered being such a ripe subject for an opera?

Zilotti – Just the idea of a dancer dressed as a pudding. I thought that was very funny.

More on this here.

Leave a Reply

