Stolen Notepads, Discovered Worlds

One of my favourite books cannot be found in your local bookshop. Nor can it be purchased via the drably wondrous world of the internet (that which offers almost everything you want, but really nothing you need). It is instead a unique work, co-authored by fourteen simple shop assistants. And it came to me – into my dear yet flaky hands – by even simpler means. I picked it up one day by the counter of a small boutique on the outskirts of Athens, thinking it to be a complimentary leaflet of some sort (oh all right, I admit it, I plain stole it). But as it has no appreciable value (certainly it was not for sale) I consider my crime to have been amongst the more diminutive of the order. It’s no more than a notepad, employed (it seems) for various petty tasks: noting down telephone orders, making sketches when bored, writing silly poems, spreading gossip, cataloguing ‘inspiring’ quotes etc. Despite this, I find it endlessly fascinating…

More here.

This is an interesting review, though I know a good few shop assistants who would be disappointed at being termed ‘simple’. One wonders, also, whether the reader needs to know that the author has flaky hands. Nevertheless, De Vejean’s conceit – that the infamous shopping list is a work of art after all – demands further investigation.

Leave a Reply

