Surfeit of Ranches

There are many things I enjoy about this review, not least the following perceptive observation:

It’s remarkable how many recent American literary novels and short stories are set on ranches…

Nothwithstanding the accuracy of the comment, I should say that it has always been a source of tremendous pride to me that I have never read a novel set on a ranch. I did, sometime in 1972, read a short poem set on a ranch, but this is as far as I have ever travelled in that particularly barren landscape.

The Russian plains, on the other hand…

Leave a Reply

