Turn on the Light

‘Last night I solved the mystery of the universe. It came to me in a flash as I was dropping off to sleep. I ought to turn on the light and write this down, I said to myself: something like this needs to be written down quick, or it’ll disappear. But no, said another part of me: there’s no way this idea will disappear. It’s too big – the implications are simply too huge. You’ll remember this in the morning, no doubt about it. Of course I didn’t remember it in the morning at all. It was gone for good’ (J-P Sertin, in conversation this afternoon, at The Crippled Bee)

Leave a Reply

