Random facts about Stanley Pleeber

As I revealed a week or so ago, I will in a few days be traversing the Atlantic ocean in order to study the archives of the late Stanley Pleeber, collector of rare manuscripts, precious artworks and postcards with horses on them. This trip has been funded by the SKA, a Salzburg based arts council, to whom I am exceedingly grateful – and not the least bit frustrated with. After all, taking only two years to come to a decision seems to be pretty fast work for an arts council.

The main reason for this trip is, of course, to study Pleeber’s collections of European folk tales. This is the bullseye towards which I am firing myself, sweet arrow that I am. On the other hand, whether I like it or not, it stands to reason that I will also be learning a lot more about the great Bostonian collector himself. And it is in this spirit that I write this, the first of what may be many ‘random facts about Stanley Pleeber’.

Random fact 1: Pleeber hung all of his paintings (of which he owned at least seven hundred) either very high or very low on the walls of his East Boston house. The walls were almost always empty at eye-level – except in the kitchen, where cutlery was hung.

5 thoughts on “Random facts about Stanley Pleeber

  1. I’ve heard very little verifiable ‘facts’ relating to the eponymous Pleeber, other than the admittedly uncertain rumours that he was either very short or/and very tall, thus explaining the unusual wall-hangings.

  2. It is hard to tell from photographs exactly how tall Pleeber was, as almost all of those which exist find him standing alone in front of a brick wall. Bricks, as you well know, differ wildly in size from region to region (or street to street) According to one source, there were roughly eight types of brick being used in Boston in 1900.
    Needless to say, the little we all know about Pleeber will be greatly expanded over the coming weeks as I continue my research.

  3. I’m paying a sweet penny or two to see less than that (or at least someone is paying on my behalf). If I can fit a little brick-watching into my busy schedule here in Boston, however, I will make every effort to do so.

Leave a Reply

